Dr Julia Daniel to give lecture on T. S. Eliot as part of Gloucester 400+ celebrations

As part of the celebrations commemorating the 400th anniversary of the settlement of Gloucester, Massachusetts, Dr Julia Daniel will give a lecture entitled ‘Water, Rock, Memory: T. S. Eliot’s Gloucester’ on Saturday 16th September 2023. T. S. Eliot treasured his childhood memories of the Gloucester seascape, where freedom and loss, human and nature, home and elsewhere mingled in tidal pools and wide waters coloured with nostalgia. READ

f r a g m e n t s : The Waste Land 2022, a celebration

To celebrate the 100th anniversary of T. S. Eliot’s masterpiece The Waste Land, the Eliot Estate has commissioned DoranBrowne Arts Imagineers to curate f r a g m e n t s, a six day festival featuring multiple diverse performances in 22 unique and extraordinarily intimate late-medieval churches, many just a short walk from each other across the City of London inspired by themes and images from the poem. READ

The Waste Land App released for iPhone

To mark the poem’s centenary, The Waste Land app has been released on iPhone as well as iPad for the first time. The award-winning app brings alive Eliot’s work via synchronised readings, interactive notes and a remarkable filmed performance by Fiona Shaw. READ

2021 T. S. Eliot Society (UK) Lecture

The T. S. Eliot Society (UK) Annual Lecture will take place in Oxford on Monday 15 November 2021. The lecture, entitled “T. S. Eliot’s Liberalism”, will be given by Seamus Perry in the award-winning T. S. Eliot Theatre in Merton College, Oxford. READ

New recording of Four Quartets by Edward Fox

It was in 1973, during a production of The Family Reunion at the Royal Exchange in Manchester, that Edward Fox was first properly introduced to Four Quartets by the director Michael Elliott. On the Sunday evenings during the play’s run, Elliott, Fox and his co-stars Joanna David and Avril Elgar, presented a number of what were called ‘fit-up’ stagings of Eliot’s poem. READ

Ralph Fiennes stages Four Quartets

Ralph Fiennes will tour UK theatres this year with his one-man staging of T. S. Eliot’s Four Quartets. The T. S. Eliot Estate are delighted to support and grant permission for this co-production by Theatre Royal Bath and the Royal & Derngate in Northampton. READ

2020 T. S. Eliot Lecture with Edna O’Brien

Edna O’Brien will deliver this year’s T. S. Eliot Lecture on Eliot and Joyce on her birthday, 15th December. The Leap is the fifth in a series of lectures inspired by T. S. Eliot’s impact on modern literature presented by the Abbey Theatre and the T. READ

The Fall of a Sparrow: Vivien Eliot’s Life and Writings

The Fall of a Sparrow, a new work on the life and writings of Vivien Eliot by Ann Pasternak-Slater, is published by Faber & Faber today. Based on a rich repository of primary evidence, much only recently uncovered, it corrects the accidental inaccuracies and deliberate distortions that have circulated around one of Bloomsbury’s most gossiped-about, enigmatic couples, while unveiling fascinating new discoveries that give a more balanced understanding of both partners. READ