2018 T. S. Eliot Prize

The 2018 T. S. Eliot Prize shortlist, which includes five debut collections, one small press, five men, five women, and two Americans, has been announced. Judges Sinéad Morrissey (Chair), Daljit Nagra and Clare Pollard have chosen the shortlist from a record 176 poetry collections submitted by ‘a plethora of poetry publishers’:

Ailbhe Darcy – Insistence (Bloodaxe)Terrance Hayes – American Sonnets for My Past and Future Assassins (Penguin)
Zaffar Kunial – Us (Faber & Faber)
Nick Laird – Feel Free (Faber & Faber)
Fiona Moore – The Distal Point (HappenStance)
Sean O’Brien – Europa (Picador)
Phoebe Power – Shrines of Upper Austria (Carcanet)
Richard Scott – Soho (Faber & Faber)
Tracy K Smith – Wade in the Water (Penguin)
Hannah Sullivan – Three Poems (Faber & Faber)



Shortlist Announced 2017 T. S. Eliot Prize

To mark the 25th anniversary of the T. S. Eliot Prize, the T. S. Eliot Foundation has increased the winner’s prize money to £25,000. Judges Bill Herbert (Chair), James Lasdun and Helen Mort have chosen the shortlist from a record 154 poetry collections submitted by publishers:


Tara Bergin – The Tragic Death of Eleanor Marx (Carcanet)

Caroline Bird – In these Days of Prohibition (Carcanet)

Douglas Dunn – The Noise of a Fly (Faber & Faber)

Leontia Flynn – The Radio (Cape Poetry)

Roddy Lumsden – So Glad I’m Me (Bloodaxe)

Michael Symmons Roberts – Mancunia (Cape Poetry)

Robert Minhinnick – Diary of the Last Man (Carcanet)

James Sheard – The Abandoned Settlements (Cape Poetry)

Jacqueline Saphra – All My Mad Mothers (Nine Arches Press)

Ocean Vuong – Night Sky with Exit Wounds (Cape Poetry)


Chair Bill Herbert said:

‘This was a very strong year, and it was a privilege to read so many books that possessed as well as intrigued us; our shortlist explores grief, pleasure, place and history in a formidable variety of ways.’ READ

2017 T. S. Eliot Prize judges announced

2017 T.S. Eliot PrizeThe T. S. Eliot Prize has announced the judges for the 2017 Prize for the best new poetry collection published in the year. W. N. Herbert will be Chair of the judging panel, alongside poets James Lasdun and Helen Mort.

The call for submissions has now gone out, with the submission window closing on 4 August. READ

T. S. Eliot Prize 2016 Winner Announced

2016 T S Eliot Prize logo

Disturbing tale of lost innocence wins world’s most prestigious poetry prize

The T. S. Eliot Foundation is delighted to announce that this year’s winner of the  2016 T. S. Eliot Prize is Jacob Polley for his remarkable new collection Jackself.

After months of reading and deliberation, Judges Ruth Padel (Chair), Julia Copus and Alan Gillis chose the winner from a strong shortlist of six women and four men. READ

John Field Reviews the 2016 T. S. Eliot Prize Shortlist

1 Rachael Boast – Void Studies


For the 2016 Prize, we’ve asked poetry blogger John Field to review the shortlisted titles again.

John concludes that ‘Reading Boast’s Void Studies is a sensual, sensory joy. Like music, it has a simultaneity of effect and presents memory and desire with intoxicating immediacy and authenticity.’ READ

Stunning 2016 T. S. Eliot Prize shortlist announced

Exciting newcomers and established poets deliver thrilling shortlist for 2016 T. S. Eliot Prize

The T. S. Eliot Prize is delighted to announce the 2016 shortlist.

Judges Ruth Padel (Chair), Julia Copus and Alan Gillis have chosen the shortlist from 138 books submitted by publishers:


Rachael Boast Void Studies / Picador
Vahni Capildeo Measures of Expatriation / Carcanet
Ian Duhig The Blind Road-Maker / Picador