2017 T. S. Eliot Prize judges announced

2017 T.S. Eliot PrizeThe T. S. Eliot Prize has announced the judges for the 2017 Prize for the best new poetry collection published in the year. W. N. Herbert will be Chair of the judging panel, alongside poets James Lasdun and Helen Mort.

The call for submissions has now gone out, with the submission window closing on 4 August.

The T. S. Eliot Prize Shortlist Readings will take place on Sunday 14 January 2018 in Southbank Centre’s Royal Festival Hall. The shortlist readings are the largest annual poetry event in the UK.

The winner of the 2017 Prize will be announced at the Award Ceremony on Monday 15 January 2018. The winning poet will receive a cheque for £20,000 and the shortlisted poets will be presented with cheques for £1,500.

Last year’s winner was Jackself by Jacob Polley (Picador). The judges were Ruth Padel (Chair), Julia Copus and Alan Gillis.