Courtney Faye Taylor Wins 2023 Four Quartets Prize

Courtney Faye Taylor, winner of the 2023 Four Quartets Prize

The Poetry Society of America and the T. S. Eliot Foundation are pleased to announce that Courtney Faye Taylor is the winner of the 2023 Four Quartets Prize for her collection Concentrate (Graywolf Press, 2022).

She was selected by judges Terrance Hayes, Hoa Nguyen, and Geoffrey G. O’Brien, who hailed her work as “a statement of poetics as well as a vision of existential struggle . . . where the poet is detective and witness, poems as an accumulating series of lyric takes.”

The judges also named Brenda Hillman for “The Sickness & the World Soul” from her collection In a Few Minutes Before Later (Wesleyan University Press, 2022) and Gabriel Ojeda-Sagué for his book Madness (Nightboat Books, 2022).

Courtney Faye Taylor will receive an award of $21,000, and each finalist will receive an award of $1,000.

The Four Quartets Prize—which was launched in 2018 on the 75th anniversary of the publication of T. S. Eliot’s Four Quartets in a single volume, in America, in 1943—is first and foremost a celebration of the multi-part poem, and is awarded to a unified and complete sequence of poems published in America in a print or online journal, chapbook, or book in 2022.


The judge’s citation on the Four Quartets Prize winner and biographies of the finalists can be found on the Poetry Society of America’s website here.