T. S. Eliot Prize News

T. S. Eliot Prize 2016 Winner Announced

2016 T S Eliot Prize logo

Disturbing tale of lost innocence wins world’s most prestigious poetry prize

The T. S. Eliot Foundation is delighted to announce that this year’s winner of the  2016 T. S. Eliot Prize is Jacob Polley for his remarkable new collection Jackself.

Read More

The T. S. Eliot Prize Shortlist Readings

All ten poets shortlisted for the 2016 T. S. Eliot Prize have accepted the invitation to read at the T. S. Eliot Prize Readings. For a fabulous evening of poetry join us at 7pm on Sunday 15 January 2017 in Southbank Centre’s Royal Festival Hall. Presenting the best collections of 2016, the Readings are the largest annual poetry event in the UK and will be hosted once again by Ian McMillan. Tickets are selling fast but are still available from Southbank Centre’s ticket office on 0207 960 4200 or via Southbank Centre’s box office online.

John Field Reviews the 2016 T. S. Eliot Prize Shortlist

1 Rachael Boast – Void Studies

For the 2016 Prize, we’ve asked poetry blogger John Field to review the shortlisted titles again.

John concludes that ‘Reading Boast’s Void Studies is a sensual, sensory joy. Like music, it has a simultaneity of effect and presents memory and desire with intoxicating immediacy and authenticity.’

Reading Rachael Boast’s Void Studies is an intense, rewarding experience.  It’s best tackled in a few bursts – or even in a single reading – to best savour the restricted palette. To enjoy the connections between her archetypal images, it’s helpful to feel the musically rhythmic thrum of her images – doors, keys, moon and river – as they pulse from poem to poem.

Read More