Four Quartets Prize

The Poetry Society of America have announced The Four Quartets Prize, a new prize presented in partnership with the T.S. Eliot Foundation. The prize is for a unified and complete sequence of poems published in America in a print or online journal, chapbook, or book in 2016 and/or 2017. The judges for the inaugural prize are Linda Gregerson, Ishion Hutchinson,  and Jana Prikryl. The deadline for submissions is 22 December 2017.

The Four Quartets Prize is first and foremost a celebration of the multi-part poem, which includes entire volumes composed of a unified sequence as well as novels in verse and book-length verse narratives. Four Quartets by T.S. Eliot is a supreme example. Eliot published each of the four sections separately in literary journals and then collected them for the book. It is the 1943 book publication that would be eligible for this prize.

The prize is launching in the 75th anniversary year of the original publication of Four Quartets in a single volume, in America, in 1943. Three finalists will receive $1,000 each. The winner will receive an additional $20,000.

Further information about the prize and submission guidelines can be found here.