Four Quartets Prize finalists announced

The Poetry Society of America and the T. S. Eliot Foundation are pleased to announce the three finalists for the Four Quartets Prize, which is to be awarded to a unified and complete sequence of poems published in America in a print or online journal, chapbook, or book in 2018.

The prize, launched last year on the 75th anniversary of the publication of Four Quartets in a single volume in America, is a celebration of the multi-part poem, which includes entire volumes composed of a unified sequence as well as novels in verse and book-length verse narratives.

The judges this year were:  Rowan Ricardo Phillips, Carmen Giménez Smith, and Rosanna Warren.

The finalists for the 2019 Four Quartets Prize are:

  • Catherine Barnett for “Accursed Questions” from Human Hours (Graywolf Press)
  • Dante Micheaux for Circus (Indolent Books)
  • Meredith Stricker for anemochore (Newfound Press)



On behalf of the judging panel, Rowan Ricardo Phillips says ‘The three finalists for the 2019 Four Quartets Prize represent how the long poem continues to delight, attract, and sustain readers and fellow poets alike into the twenty-first century. These poems are daring, expertly crafted, alluring, and infused with a sense of poetic purpose.’

Each of the three finalists will receive $1,000. The winner will receive an additional $20,000.

The winner will be announced at a private luncheon at the National Arts Club on 30 April 2019.

Read more about the prize announcement here.