T. S. Eliot Prize News

Sinéad Morrissey to chair 2018 T. S. Eliot Prize judging panel

The T. S. Eliot Foundation is delighted to announce the judges for the 2018 Prize. The panel will be chaired by Sinéad Morrissey, alongside poets Daljit Nagra and Clare Pollard.

The 2018 judging panel will be looking for the best new poetry collection written in English and published in the calendar year. The prize is unique in that entrants are judged by their peers; the panel always consists of established poets.

Sinéad Morrissey said:

“It’s a great honour to act as Chair this year to the T. S. Eliot Prize, a prize which has meant a great deal to me personally over the course of my writing career. I look forward to working with my fellow judges and to immersing myself in the dynamic and flourishing world of poetry being written in the UK and Ireland today.”
The call for submissions will go out in June, with the submission window closing in early August.

The 2018 T. S. Eliot Prize Shortlist Readings will take place on Sunday 13 January 2019 at Southbank Centre’s Royal Festival Hall. The shortlist readings are the largest annual poetry event in the UK.

The winner of the 2018 Prize will be announced at the Award Ceremony on Monday 14 January 2019. The T. S. Eliot Prize is the richest prize in British poetry – the winning poet will receive a cheque for £25,000 and the shortlisted poets will be presented with cheques for £1,500.

Last year’s winner was Ocean Vuong’s Night Sky with Exit Wounds and the judges were W N Herbert (Chair), James Lasdun and Helen Mort.