William Empson


William Empson (1906–84), poet and critic; author of Seven Types of Ambiguity (1930), Some Versions of Pastoral (1935), The Structure of Complex Words (1951), Milton’s God (1961). TSE would later take pains at F&F to publish The Gathering Storm (poems, 1940). See further Complete Poems, ed. John Haffenden (2001); Haffenden, William Empson: Among the Mandarins (2005); Selected Letters of William Empson, ed. Haffenden (2006).