The T. S. Eliot Prize for Poetry was inaugurated in 1993 to celebrate the Poetry Book Society’s 40th birthday and honour its founding poet.

Described as ‘the prize most poets want to win’ (Sir Andrew Motion, former Poet Laureate) and ‘the world’s top poetry award’ (Independent), it is awarded annually to the author of the best new collection of poetry published in the UK and Ireland.

It is firmly established as the most valuable and prestigious prize in the UK for a new collection of poetry. It is distinctive among poetry prizes in being judged by a panel of established poets.  In 2015, to mark the 50th anniversary of T. S. Eliot’s death, the T. S. Eliot Estate increased the value of the Prize named in his honour. The winner now receives £20,000 and the ten shortlisted poets each receive £1,500.

In 2016 the Poetry Book Society closed down, transferring its book club to Inpress Ltd. The T. S. Eliot Prize was taken over by a new charity, the T. S. Eliot Foundation, which will run and support it going forward.

Media queries relating to the T. S. Eliot Prize should be addressed to Gina Rozner

List of previous winners

2015 Sarah Howe Loop of Jade

2014 David Harsent Fire Songs

2013 Sinéad Morrissey  Parallax

2012 Sharon Olds Stag’s Leap   

2011 John Burnside Black Cat Bone

2010 Derek Walcott White Egrets

2009 Philip Gross The Water Table

2008 Jen Hadfield Nigh-No-Place

2007 Sean O’Brien The Drowned Book

2006 Seamus Heaney District and Circle

2005 Carol Ann Duffy Rapture

2004 George Szirtes Reel

2003 Don Paterson Landing Light

2002 Alice Oswald Dart

2001 Anne Carson The Beauty of the Husband

2000 Michael Longley The Weather in Japan

1999 Hugo Williams Billy’s Rain

1998 Ted Hughes Birthday Letters

1997 Don Paterson God’s Gift to Women

1996 Les Murray Subhuman Redneck Poems

1995 Mark Doty My Alexandria

1994 Paul Muldoon The Annals of Chile

1993 Ciaran Carson First Language: Poems